You are here


Manchester United playmaker Bruno Fernandes has joined an exclusive list of players at the club after he was named the Player of the Year for the second season in a row earlier this week. The Portuguese international won the accolade as a result of the votes from fans as he finished ahead of English left-back Luke Shaw and Uruguayan striker EdinsonCavani.

Fernandeswas named the Sir Matt Busby Player of the Year at Manchester United after he won 63% of the votes ahead of Shaw who had 21% and Cavani with 6% of the votes.

Portuguese player Fernandes had won the award for the first time last season despite playing half of the whole campaign in the colours of the Red Devils. The 26-year-old signed for Manchester United at the start of last year after the Old Trafford outfit negotiated his transfer with newly crowned Portuguese Super League champions Sporting Lisbon. Manchester United paid an initial fee of £47m for the attacking midfielder but it could rise to the £70m mark depending on add-ons.

Fernandes has been in good form for the Red Devils and he has been able to propel the English club to the Europa League final this season. Manchester United will face Villarreal from the Spanish top flight to determine who will succeed another Spanish team Villarreal as the Europa League winners. He has scored 28 goals for the Red Devils in all competitions this term.

Ex-Sporting Lisbon star Fernandes is only the fifth player to win the Sir Matt Busby Player of the Year award in two straight seasons in the history of the club. Others like Ruud Van Nistelrooy, Roy Keane, Cristiano Ronaldo and David De Gea also won the award in two straight seasons.

Van Nistelrooy and Keane have both retired from football, while De Gea is still at the club as one of the goalkeepers. On his part, 36-year-old Cristiano Ronaldo is at Italian club Juventus having moved there from Real Madrid three years ago. Cristiano Ronaldo has been linked with a return to Manchester United on several occasions. He left the club for Real Madrid in 2009.